KVD vs. Make Up Forever Foundation

Hello, lovlies!

I’ve had some people ask about which foundation I like better, the Kat Von D Lock-it Foundation or the Make Up Forever Mat Velvet +. I think that they are both great in their own ways but to make it easier for y’all, I’m going to go over everything!

IMG_1682

Let’s get started!


Kat Von D Lock-it Foundation

IMG_1649

Price: $35

Product Amount: 30 mL


Finish

This is not a matte finishing foundation. It’s not necessarily “dewy” but if you have oily skin you will need to blot and powder throughout the day.


Coverage

It’s full coverage. What I really like about this product is the fact that the coverage is instant. It has a very thick consistency and there is no need for you to build it up. For mornings where you are in a hurry, it’s fantastic. It will give you the coverage you want quickly. But if you are not a fan of heavy foundations you will not like this on its own. I’ve found that if you mix it with a small amount of lotion to thin it out, it will give you a much lighter and more natural finish.


Lasting Wear

Like I said before, if you have oily skin it is inevitable that you’re going to have to blot and powder throughout the day. But, the coverage isn’t going to disappear throughout the day or anything like that. I would wear it through my entire day, sweat and all and would be fine.


Packaging

I love the packaging of this product. It has a pump that moves the foundation towards the top as you use it. It’s really hard to explain, but you will literally use every drop of this foundation without it being all stuck to the sides.


How to Apply

I typically would apply however much product I wanted to the back of my hand and dot it onto my face. Particularly in the areas I wanted the most coverage it. Then, I would blend it in with my Beauty Blender. I found that this gave me the most natural look. It’s easy for this foundation to look cakey so this method would give me the best result.


The Paleness Factor

If you are super pale, like me, there is a shade of this foundation that is practically white. So you will not look orange! YAY.


Make Up Forever Mat Velvet +

FullSizeRender

Price: $39

Product Amount: 30 mL


Finish

MATTE. This is the mattest foundation that I have ever had the pleasure of trying. My t-zone loves to get super oily throughout the day and this truly keeps me matte for so long. I don’t even bring a powder with me anymore. It’s great! I also would like to point out how natural it looks on my skin, even when I have built up the coverage. It blends seamlessly.


Coverage

This is a buildable full coverage. What do I mean by buildable? You have to apply this foundation in thin layers and let them dry in between to really benefit from the coverage. It is kind of annoying in the mornings when I’m in a hurry. To distract myself from the wait of drying foundation, I’ll usually do my eyebrows or my eye makeup in between. It’s a small annoyance, but an annoyance nonetheless.


Lasting Wear

This lasts me ALL DAY. I love it. Usually, after wearing a foundation for a couple of hours, you can tell I’ve had it on for a while. This one you can’t. I feel like it looks like I just put it on all day.


Packaging

I like it because it’s small and it’s super easy to fit in a makeup bag BUT it’s hard to tell how much foundation you are using. When I use the Kat Von D one, I’ll use one pump. With this one, you can’t really tell. I feel like this could make it super easy to use more than you should and waste it.


How to Apply

I will put a little but directly onto my damp Beauty Blender and blend it straight onto my skin in thin layers. I’ll let it dry and then keep adding layers until I reach the coverage that I want.


Paleness Factor

They kept the pale skinned girls in mind for this foundation as well. Have no fear but do try to get color matched if you can! With this foundation and its ability to blend so seamlessly, you definitely want to find your perfect shade!


Overall, these are my two favorite foundations and as you can see, they both have their pros and cons. Let me know if this helped you and what your favorite one is!

Thanks for reading!

img_7666

10 thoughts on “KVD vs. Make Up Forever Foundation

Leave a Reply

