Review: Make Up Forever Mat Velvet+

Hello my lovelies,

Are you in shock right now? Yes, I bought a new foundation and have been wearing it for a couple of weeks. I honestly feel like I have betrayed my Kat Von D foundation because it was my go-to for so long.

But it’s time for a change.

So say hello to the Make Up Forever Mat Velvet+!

IMG_1683.JPG

First, let’s start with what I look for in a foundation.

-Full Coverage

-Long Lasting

-Preferably Matte

-Decent amount of product within the packaging

-Needs to match my paleness


I have heard great things about the Make Up Forever brand and I really wanted to try something from their line. Originally, I wanted to try the HD Foundation Stick BUT apparently that formula is not so good for oily skin.

So what better than the Make Up Forever Matt Velvet+? I mean, it has “Mat” in the name.

So, here’s what I think!


Packaging

IMG_1682.JPG

At first, I was a little sceptical about how small it was, especially compared to my giant Kat Von D bottle. But when I looked at the mL, it was actually the exact same! Shocking, right??


Formula

It has a thick formula that blends into nothingness. I don’t know how. When I first squeezed it out of the bottle I thought it was going to be so cakey but it honestly looks so natural on the skin.


“Matte”ness

I have extremely oily skin and with the Kat Von D foundation, I could maybe make it a couple of hours (with primer and powder) before my nose and t-zone started to get oily. But, with this foundation, I stay matte all day for at least 8 hours! It’s insane!


Coverage

This is a buildable medium to full coverage foundation. I’ve found that I get the best coverage when I apply it in thin layers, making sure to let it dry in between. But don’t let the layering scare you. It doesn’t look cakey and I will apply 2-3 thin layers on a daily basis.


Color Range

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 6.27.41 PM.png

I would definitely get this color matched if you can because if I had used my usual method, it wouldn’t have matched!

(My usual method, a.k.a just grabbing the palest shade and hoping for the best…)

I am in the shade #20 and it matches me perfectly. You can hardly tell I have anything on and it’s fantastic.


All-in-all, I love this foundation and definitely recommend if you’re looking for a full-coverage, mattifying foundation!


Thank you so much for reading! See you guys Thursday!

img_7666

30 thoughts on “Review: Make Up Forever Mat Velvet+

  1. I used this foundation for a long time and absolutely loved it! Just felt like the coverage was too heavy sometimes so I’ve been using the Laura Mercier oil-free tinted moisturizer. It’s so light-weight and helps a bit with oil control too! Great review πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think they’re both great products but if you are going for a matte finish I would definitely go with the Makeup Forever one! It honestly astounds me how matte it is!

      But the Kat Von D one will definitely always hold a special place in my heart and if I’m going for a “dewy” finish, it will be my go to!

      But they are both great for coverage! I just think that the Makeup Forever foundation looks a tad bit more natural! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it depends on what you’re looking for but if your looking for a matte finish… I think it beats the KVD one! The coverage is great and I like that its build-able!

      I’m thinking about doing a blog just comparing the two and listing the pros and cons of both! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

