Spring or Save: Beauty Blender Edition

IMG_8762.JPG

I’ve been using beauty blenders for a couple of years now and they are definitely a must have in my makeup arsenal. But girl, are they are expensive, so I wanted to try out some of the many dupes out there that are way cheaper.

Let’s start with the Essence of Beauty Precision Blender Sponge.

IMG_8760.JPG

Price: $5.49 at CVS

When I first took this out of the package, I was very hesitant. This thing was like rock hard. But I was willing to give it a chance so I got it damp to hopefully soften it up a bit. Well, I tried to.

I literally held this thing under the water for like five minutes and squeezed it so much that I thought I would cramp and it barely got any softer. It felt like one of the workout squeezer things for your hands. Not what I really want for a makeup sponge…

When I used this sponge, let’s just say that it felt like I was beating my face. It wasn’t pleasant. I tried dabbing it a little softer (because I don’t want bruises) but then it took forever for the foundation to blend. So, I had a dilemma. Either I could pound this sponge on my face to blend my foundation or I could barely tap it and take 20 minutes trying to blend it out.

The largest part of the sponge didn’t really cover much on my face and the thinner end was really flimsy. So when I tried to blend concealer under my eyes it was a huge struggle.

I always use my Beauty Blender to apply setting powder to my under eyes. When I tired with this sponge it was so hard. The flimsy part wasn’t wide enough and the bottom wasn’t the right shape to get into my inner corners.

This sponge was a huge disappointment and I was so sad because I really wanted it to work. Oh, and did I mention that I bought this sponge while I was in L.A.? For 5 days! I forgot to pack my Beauty Blender so I was stuck with this sponge. It was awful.

Next is the Sephora Collection, The Perfectionist: Airbrush Sponge.

IMG_8759.JPG

Price: $12 at Sephora

When I took it out of the package, it felt a little bit thicker than my beauty blender but as soon as I got it damp you could hardly tell the difference between the two. Trust me, I was holding them both side by side and trying to tell which one was softer and they pretty much felt the same. Huge shocker. The only time I could really tell a difference was when I was blending my foundation; it was the tiniest bit harder than the beauty blender. And I do mean tiniest.

I was kind of worried at first because there wasn’t really a flat part that I could use for my whole face but I worried for nothing. The side of the fatter end is perfect for your entire face. And the smaller part easily gets into the inner corners of your eyes when blending concealer.

I mean this sponge is practically the same as my Beauty Blender. When I went to set my under eye concealer, it looked the same as it normally does with my Beauty Blender. I was so impressed. The only difference to me, with these sponges, is the shape.

If I had known about this sponge a couple of months ago, I would’ve stopped by Sephora in California and bought it.

Now for the main attraction: The Beauty Blender.

IMG_8758.JPG

Price: $20 at Sephora

This sponge is soft straight from the package and when you get it wet it feels like a pillow. I find with this sponge, the lighter you pat it, the better it blends. I just recently got the black beauty blender and it says that it is built for long wear use. I definitely agree. My foundation seems to last way longer with this sponge than it did with the original pink one. I could be crazy, though.

It has the traditional egg shape that I like. You can use the bottom for your face or the sides and the top pointed part for your eyes. It is simple but efficient.

Just coming from previous experiences, I know this sponge starts to crack after about 6 months; I am very interested in seeing how long the Sephora one lasts.

There’s not much else to say about it. I love it.

And for the final test! I tried to think of something that is normally hard to blend and the first thing that popped into my head was cream bronzer. I’m not sure why but it always seems like it takes so much more effort to blend it.

IMG_8755.JPG

So I put three swatches onto my arm and blended with each sponge and here’s what happened:

IMG_8756.JPG

With the E.O.B sponge, even after pounding on my arm, there is still a line of the bronzer.

And the Sephora and Beauty Blender both blended it seamlessly.

So, in my opinion, if you want to save some money on a Beauty Blender you should definitely look into the Sephora Sponge. It does just as good of a job as the Beauty Blender does but it’s $8 cheaper.

The only way I would buy the E.O.B sponge again is if I forgot my Beauty Blender while in California and there was no Sephora in sight.

*I’m in no way, shape or form getting paid for any of this.These are all of my honest opinions!

img_7666

 

 

12 thoughts on “Spring or Save: Beauty Blender Edition

  1. Thanks for the great review! I’ve been using cheaper alternatives to the Beauty Blender for a few years now, but I was wanting to try a different brand, so I think I may pick up the Sephora brand next time I’m there! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

