High-end Makeup — Would I repurchase?

 

I don’t always buy high-end makeup but when I do, I expect the best quality and to get my money’s worth. Does this always happen? No. But I’ll try to help you save some money. Here are the high-end makeup products I’ve bought and my honest opinions about them.


Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Contour Palette:

Cost: $46 at Sephora

Repurchase? YES.

I can’t even explain how much I love this product. The colors are extremely pigmented and it’s very versatile. There is a cool, warm and neutral section within the palette and they are very clearly separated so it’s really easy to plan eye looks. It consists of all matte shades, which I am all for. I love matte. It also has lasted me a very long time. I’ve used this palette practically every day since I’ve gotten in and have yet to hit pan on any of the colors.


Kat Von D Shade and Light Contour Palette:

Cost: $46 at Sephora

Repurchase? Eh. Maybe.

I love the contour shades in this palette. They are all cool-toned so they are great for sculpting but the light shades leave much to be desired. I’m extremely pale so the “highlight” shades don’t really work for me. In fact, they are actually darker than my skin tone. It’s really unfortunate because I like the palette and when I had my fake tan it was absolute perfection. If you are pale like me, I would recommend the NYX Highlight and Contour Pro Palette. It has more options and the highlight actually works as on us pale skin girls. And it’s way cheaper. That’s always a plus.


IMG_7740

Kat Von D Lock-it Foundation in Light 42:

Cost: $35 at Sephora

Repurchase? YES, in fact, this is my third bottle.

I love this foundation because it’s full coverage and it’s one of the only ones that are pale enough for me. And that is an accomplishment. It’s 30 mL and I usually only need to repurchase it around every 8-9 months. I usually use about one pump per application with my beauty blender. It has a thick consistency, so it helps to make it look more natural and not quite so cakey.


IMG_7741

Kat Von D Lock-it Tattoo Concealer in Light 16:

Cost: $25 at Sephora

Repurchase? Probably not.

It’s hard to say with this product because it’s the wrong shade for me. When I had my spray tan it worked beautifully. It has a liquid formula and it blends seamlessly into my skin. I really wish I had the right shade because I’m pretty sure I would love it but alas, I don’t feel like spending more money on it because I have found other concealers that work just as well. But it does what it says. It is a great concealer for coverage.


IMG_7755

Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer:

Cost: $25 at Ulta

Repurchase? No.

First of all, I would like to point out the name. Creaseless… not so much with this concealer, it creases almost immediately after applying it. Kind of disappointing but I was extremely happy with the color. It was actually pale enough for me…. Yay! But, this concealer is a really weird texture. When I put it on my face it was sticky which was definitely strange. Even with powder, it was kind of shiny. I don’t really know what was going on with it. Now, I will use it for a cream highlight because I don’t mind if my cheekbones have a dewy finish.


MAC Bronzer in Gold-Go-Lightly:

Cost: $26 at MAC

Repurchase? No.

I do love the product, I have hit tin on it but it’s a little warm for my taste. I prefer cool-toned bronzers because I don’t want to look orange. It’s a very smooth powder, though, just not for me.


IT Cosmetics Celebration Foundation in Fair:

Cost: $35 at Ulta

Repurchase? No.

I was so disappointed about this product. I had heard so many great things about it and it was such a letdown. Don’t get me wrong the product is beautiful. It’s full coverage and gives you a beautiful dewy finish but it’s so messy! This has the consistency of a loose powder even though it’s supposed to be pressed. I swear half of the product is on my floor. I just can’t justify buying a product that I hit tin on after a week. Not for the price.


IMG_7744

IT Cosmetics Hello Lashes Mascara:

Cost: $10 at Ulta

Repurchase? Yes.

This has a dryer formula so it’s great for holding a curl. It gets right up to the roots of my lashes and really lengthens them.


Hourglass Ambient Luminous Bronze Light:

Cost: $50 at Sephora

Repurchase? Yes.

I’ve been on an Hourglass kick lately and this bronzer doesn’t disappoint. It’s beautiful in my opinion. It gives my face color without making me look orange and it also adds a beautiful glow as well. When you touch the powder, it literally feels like velvet. Love it.


Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit Palette:

Cost: $80 at Sephora

Repurchase? Yes.

What can I say? It’s beautiful. This palette comes with two blush shades, a bronzer, and three highlighters. It extremely versatile, I will use this palette for eye shadows and for the intended uses. I also like how every color works well with the others. I can mix colors or wear them on their own.


Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette:

Cost: $58 at Sephora

Repurchase? Yes.

This comes with three shades that are B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L. This is my all time favorite highlighter. These colors are buildable so if you want to go for a subtle highlight, you can. Or you can rock a fierce one. It get’s an A+++.


Urban Decay Naked 2 and 3 Palettes:

Cost: $50 each at Sephora

Repurchase? Yes. To both.

Naked 2: This palette lasts forever. I have still yet to hit pan on any of the colors. They are all super pigmented and versatile. I’m sure you all know how amazing this palette is.

Naked 3: This palette is all cool-toned. If you like cool toned eye shadows then you will love it. The same as the Naked 2, I still haven’t hit pan.


IMG_7756

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara:

Cost: $23 at Ulta

Repurchase? Yes.

This mascara gives my lashes life. This is one of the mascaras that I would actually pay money for and that is saying something. I usually only buy drugstore mascaras. It gives you volume and length. It’s black and perfect. I have no more words.


I hope this helps you and that you’re all having a fantastic 2016 so far!

img_7666

32 thoughts on “High-end Makeup — Would I repurchase?

  1. Great to know about the KVD foundation. I normally don’t wear any but i’m been trying to considering so my makeup pics look more smooth. Have you tried Makeup Forever HD? I’m wondering how you feel it compares to KVD?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Kat Von D products especially her foundation. It’s nice when majority of lighter shades are still too tan for you which is usually my problem. I was so sad with my naked 3 though how do you make your pigmented colors to stay ! I’ve tried fix plus and all of the urban decay primers too. It’s the only one I’ve had struggles with out of the whole collection.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! Her products are amazing!

      Usually I would use the urban decay primers but recently I’ve been using the NYX jumbo pencil as my base! I use the shade milk (white) so it really makes the light colors pop! The jumbo pencils have a creamy formula but then they dry after you apply so I’ve found they work really well as a base! And they are drugstore so they aren’t super expensive!

      Like

  3. You have included some of my absolute favorites here!!! I love the Hourglass bronzer because I am fair and it doesn’t give me that dirty look. I pretty much love anything Hourglass… well maybe not the price! Great post though!!! I am having fun looking at your page 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

